Royal String Quartet

Concert: In silence

The coherent and formally well put together programme of the concert presents an accessible and at the same time deeply spiritual face of classical music. It comprises pieces written in various styles and in various periods (from late Renaissance to works by still living composers), combining soothing sounds with sacred harmony.

James MacMillan (1959)

Gregorio Allegri (1582 - 1652)
Miserere mei, Deus

Paweł Szymański (1954)
Five pieces for string quartet (part III)

Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart (1756 - 1791)
String quartet in F major KV 168 (part II)

Henryk Mikołaj Górecki (1933 - 2010)
String quartet no. 3 (part II)

Arvo Pärt (1935)

James MacMillan (1959)
String quartet no. 3 (part III)